Last minute deals to idyllic Santa Canceraos

A major British cancer charity currently has sponsored adverts popping up on Facebook where individuals post photos of themselves the way they are right now. Everyone looks so happy and healthy and they're all thoroughly enjoying themselves. You could be forgiven for thinking you were looking at some glossy holiday brochure trying to persuade you of the delights of the Hotel Chemoterapia in the idyllic little resort of Santa Canceraos on the secluded island of Oncologia set in the azure waters of the Radiologica Sea. Honestly, I'd be tempted to book if I hadn't already been and found that the brochure was, how shall I put this, not entirely factual.

As is usual with Facebook posts, other individuals post comments and one post in particular pee’ed me off. I know the person posting would have meant well but, FFS, cancer ain't school and we don't need reports to take home to our mums. It read: “A shining example to all others suffering from cancer well done”.

“Shining example”!! “Well done” !!! $€£@#$%&! (That’s me cursing politely).

I feel inadequate, like I failed the class.

In fairness, the comment was about a woman who'd climbed a mountain a year after starting chemo but, come on, how many of us could do that? It's great that some can but it's no more than that one guest amongst many at the bug infested Hotel Chemoterapia who gets the spotless room with the clean sheets when everyone else goes home ill and covered in bites.

Now I probably wouldn't feel as sensitive about this if I wasn't feeling so drained right now. I have done for weeks. The pills I'm on must have started having more of an effect on me because I'm even more drained than usual. It's not that I'm permanently slumped in an armchair, I do still get on with things and I even have days when I'm out and about, but no way do those things include climbing a @#$ing mountain. One day this week I felt good so we went out and I've paid for it ever since.

I realise charities have to try to raise money so they can do the work they do, and this particular charity does amazing work. But, please, while you're showing what great results research can bring and how your particular charity is at the forefront of research (and it is!), can you think about the issues these money raising initiatives can raise along with the money and please don't forget that there are still a helluva lot of us who are bringing up the rear.

p.s. If a place such as the Hotel Chemoterapia in the idyllic little resort of Santa Canceraos on the secluded island of Oncologia set in the azure waters of the Radiologica Sea exists anywhere, please may I refer you to my Disclaimer

One thought on “Last minute deals to idyllic Santa Canceraos

Leave a Reply

