The best laid plans

The chemo seemed to be following a pattern. The first 10 or 11 days would be steadily downhill with a variety of side effects, many of which were starting to feel familiar, as though I was an old hand at all this despite only having had my first treatment less than 2 months ago. Around Day 11 I’d get my taste buds back, tea would be drinkable, the aches and pains would subside and I’d be on the upward slope towards the next treatment. It was all so predictable. So, with my oncologist giving the OK, we booked flights and prepared for 8 days in Spain to grab the last of the summer sun and warmth and to meet up with friends.

We were to fly out on the Sunday afternoon so as to be ready for a hard day laying on the beach on the Monday. By Saturday morning we had got as far as having the bags packed and all that remained to do was throw in the last minute stuff the next day, but when I woke up I knew I wasn’t feeling as well as I should be feeling. I checked my temperature and was relieved to find it was not “officially” high, but it was around 1ºc higher than my usual and the chemo book clearly said that merely feeling unwell was enough to warrant going to A&E, so we did. I honestly thought they’d just pump some antibiotics into me and send me home. I was half right.

One of my blood results – the neutrophils – came back low at 1.4 and subsequently went down to 1.1. I have since been told it should be between 2 and 7. Also, I had blood in my urine. The low neutrophils level is a common side effect of chemo and means that the risk of getting an infection is high and the onset can be very sudden. I’ve got first hand experience of sepsis, having had it 3 times, and I’d rather avoid a repeat. Nevertheless, I was disappointed that rather than being sent on my way I was admitted and ended up spending almost a day and a half in hospital. I got out on Sunday afternoon half an hour after our plane took off.

Just when it looked as though I wouldn’t be sunning myself in Spain and instead I was to enjoy the charms of an increasingly autumnal England, with its falling leaves, shorter days and morning mists, my Macmillan nurse and oncologist got together and said that if we could still get flights then we should go. As they quite rightly said, “life is for living“. I didn’t need telling twice and that phrase resonated the whole time I was away. I did my best to comply.

We got there later than planned but we did it! We had six fantastic days and despite feeling tired we’re both so pleased to have finished off the summer as we wanted to. The cancer and the chemo took second place and went right to the back of our minds the whole time while we concentrated on the serious business of relaxation. There were pills to be taken, of course, but strolling down the beach to the chiringuito to get a snack to take them with took the edge away.

Now it’s back to reality, confirmed by having to flick on the central heating when we got home, but with our internal batteries recharged with enough solar power to last a few months and with the added bonus of finding out today that my PSA has gone down a little bit more to 0.239, I’m ready for chemo number 4. As ready as I’ll ever be, anyway.

2 thoughts on “The best laid plans

Leave a Reply

